Reversed Food Art: Oreo Brownies

jv1_1658

I don’t think that there’s any recipe in baking land that is both super satisfying & ridiculously easy to prepare at the same time. Of course, we have a serious brownie deal in here. I wrote this recipe 3 (!!!) years ago, it was somewhere saved in an old file but never made the final cut when I was about to write a new blogpost. I believe that everything happens for a reason, and that’s why I finally had to share my recipe with you guys.

jv1_1662

Since I have my new camera (Nikon D5500, one hell of a versatile machine) I’m trying all kinds of different modes, scenes and effects. Sometimes I even press a random button and see what happens on the screen. Turns out that those pictures often look like shit on a screen – camera modes should never rely on coincidence, that’s one thing I’ve learned. With my macro lens adapted, I shot this short clip showing all the stages of my brownies. Except, everything is reversed. Why? Doesn’t it look super sexy when a good old drizzle of chocolate runs up instead of running down? Don’t you want to see how crunched oreos become whole oreos again? Yesss, I’m feeling ya.

Got hungry? Here’s my recipe, enjoy!

 

You’ll need (makes 6 large or 12 small brownies)

3 eggs

120g caster sugar

200g dark chocolate

120g butter

60g all purpose flour

a pinch of fleur de sel (regular salt will do the job as well)

6 Oreos, crunched

 

Method

Preheat the oven to 180°C/350°F. Grease a baking pan with butter or oil and line with baking paper.

Start by melting the butter & dark chocolate separately in the microwave (butter: 40″ at 900W chocolate: 1’30” at 900W). Make sure to stir every 30 seconds into the dark chocolate mixture, as it tends to burn quickly. Set aside to cool down.

In a large bowl, whip eggs & sugar until light & fluffy, about 4 minutes. (if you want your brownies to be more fudgy & sticky, beat just until combined).

Slowly pour butter into the egg mixture, while whisking. Then pour melted chocolate into the mixture and whisk until combined.

Add flour & fleur de sel (or seasalt) and whisk to a smooth batter. Stir in crunched Oreos.

Pour batter into the prepared baking pan and spread evenly. Bake for 20-25 minutes, let it cool down for at least ten minutes before slicing into squares.

Serve plain or with a giant scoop of ice cream. Hell yes.

Bewaren

8 replies »

Leave a Reply

